Balaklava Cup News

Sixteen runners remain in contention for this afternoon’s 2016 Balaklava Cup (1600m); offering punters exceptional value from a betting perspective and several key opportunities to place a winning wager. Cavaloce has returned to racing in smart form this time and remains an outright $4.80 favourite in 2016 Balaklava Cup betting…

Balaklava Cup

The 2017 Balaklava Cup is an $100,000 Listed event held annually in August or September at Balaklava Racecourse.

The 2017 Balaklava Cup will be held on Wednesday August 30th.Balaklava Cup

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

Located one hour north of Adelaide, the black-type 1600-metre race attracts the very best country horses from South Australia and Victoria as well as a number of metropolitan runners.

The largest country racing event in South Australia, the Balaklava Cup is always well attended by racegoers and attracts keen interest from punters across the country.

The best South Australian trainers typically have entrants in the Balaklava Cup, with the likes of David Jolly and Tony McEvoy usually seen track side on cup day.

It is also common for some of the best jockeys in the country to be booked for rides in the Balaklava Cup, with Melbourne Cup winning rider Damien Oliver riding 2011 winner Magical Pearl to victory.

Leading South Australian jockeys Claire Lindop, Paul Gatt and Simon Price are always familiar faces on Balaklava Cup Day.

Located 90 kilometres north of Adelaide, the town of Balaklava gets racing fever each year with the small but enthusiastic population turning out en masse for a fun-filled day of racing action.

Horses that excel in the Balaclava Cup generally go on to compete in the Murray Bridge Gold Cup and the smaller Listed and Group events at Adelaide and Melbourne.

Balklava Cup Facts

  • When: Late August/Early September
  • Where: Balaklava, South Australia
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Type: Listed
  • Prize Money: $80,000

Recent Winners

2013 Balaklava Cup winner Gris Caro managed to take out victory by little more than a nose in a hard fought battle against second place Detox and third place Baby Boy, who was less than half a length off the winner. 2014 winner Balaklava Cup winner Longshoreman pulled it off in remarkable style ahead of talented sayer Justify That.

The 2011 winner of the Balaklava Cup was Victorian horse Magical Pearl who produced a strong finish to defeat Candle by nearly a length.

In 2010, the Balklava Cup was also taken by a Victorian traveller with Haddle McDaddle hanging on for a convincing win ahead of Silent Sophia.

Balaklava Racecourse

Founded in 1903, Balaklava Racecourse boasts a long history of thoroughbred action and is one the best racing venues in country South Australia.

Apart from hosting the Balaklava Cup annually, Balaklava Racecourse hosts a number of meetings throughout the year.

The Balaklava Racecourse will host a race meeting on Melbourne Cup 2014 day.