Balaklava Cup Results

Balaklava Cup results stretch back to the race’s inauguration in 1920, when Price Bardolph became the first ever Balaklava Cup winner. Punters tend to focus on the Balaklava Cup results as they can provide a good indication of how a horse can handle a mile distance, particularly for horses who usually race at shorter or greater distances. There is usually a few horses in the Balaklava Cup results who have fairly extensive black-type experience. For that reason as well, punters focus on Balaklava Cup results. There’s nothing like following a Balaklava Cup winner through other major group races and watching them perform solidly in higher class company.

Notable Balaklava Cup winners include Banner Boy (1953), Mossland (1984), Purple Rain (1989) and Alcopop (2009).

In 1999 there were two Balaklava Cup winners due to a dead heat between Old Tawny and Old Man.

Balaklava Cup results since 2000 are below.

Balaklava Cup Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Time
2016 Little Akie Excited Zelady Our Exchange TBD
2015 By The Grace Little Akie Supreme Warrior 1:38.94
2014 Longshoreman Justify That Albonetti 1:36.08
2013 Gris Caro Detox Baby Boy 1:35.95
2012 Bagman Road Warrior Light Tan 1:37.38
2011 Magical Pearl Candle Silent Surround 1:36.11
2010 Haddle McDaddle Silent Sophia Xaieta 1:37.81
2009 Alcopop Steel My Heart Aztec Smytzer 1:34.56
2008 Life To The Full Aztec Smytzer Steel My Heart 1:35.30
2007 Road Worker Keltah Merlot Now 1:35.90
2006 Pride Of Archway Jaffa Jonnie On A Jeune 1:35.40
2005 Civil Stamen Kehlstein 1:37.84
2004 Lord Mick Capo Del Opo Roman Arch 1:35.72
2003 Roman Arch Cumbria Sciatica 1:39.5
2002 Chading Border Time Terminus Prince 1:36.62
2001 Easy Landing Roralism At Risk 1:36.97
2000 My Golden Bracelet More Action Mr Selby 1:39.54